Our People

Central School of Ballet is a thriving community of passionate people who believe in providing world-leading professional training to provide global career opportunities for young people in the dance industry. The organisation also believes that access to dance through participation or opportunities to watch performances is part of our broader remit, encouraging children, teenagers and adults of all ages and backgrounds to engage with this artform, an important part of our cultural landscape.

Artistic Advisors
Mark Baldwin OBE Former Artistic Director, Rambert
Sir Matthew Bourne Artistic Director, New Adventures
Carole Gable Gable Repertoire
David Nixon OBE Artistic Director, Northern Ballet
Ashley Page OBE International Choreographer
Sharon Watson MBE Principal, Northern School of Contemporary Dance

Mark Osterfield, Executive Director

Mark Osterfield was appointed Executive Director for the Central School of Ballet in March 2020. Mark has spent his career managing leading arts organisations and facilitating change for the public benefit with social, cultural and economic impact. He worked on the major refurbishment of Camden’s Swiss Cottage Central Library that was completed in 2003. As Executive Director Tate St Ives Mark championed the refurbishment and extension of the iconic gallery, winning Art Fund Museum of the Year 2018 as a result of his leadership. Since 2018 he has worked as a consultant and interim Director for a number of visual arts organisations including Spike Island, and Wysing Arts Centre.

Having studied ballet as a child, including a short stint at the Royal Ballet School, Mark read English at Keble College, Oxford, and then took a second degree in Fine Art at Middlesex University. Mark plans to bring this experience to the new role at Central, supporting young people to achieve excellence as dancers, whilst seeking to broaden Central School of Ballet’s reach and engagement with diverse communities, from its new premises in Southwark on the South Bank.

Kate Coyne, Artistic Director and Professional Training Lead

Born in London, Kate trained at the Royal Ballet School and London Contemporary Dance School, from where she graduated into London Contemporary Dance Theatre under the directorship of Robert Cohan. Later she joined Rambert Dance Company under the directorship of Christopher Bruce. In these repertory companies Kate worked on new and restaged pieces with a variety of choreographers. Pursuing a freelance career she worked as a long-standing member of Michael Clark Company, and with DV8, Mark Baldwin Dance Company, Jeremy James and Dancers, Martha Clarke, Michael Keegan-Dolan, Arthur Pita and Aletta Collins. In 2009 she was the recipient of the Critics Circle Award for Best Female Dancer- Modern and has been the joint winner with colleagues from London Contemporary Dance Theatre of an Olivier Award for Outstanding Achievement in Dance. Kate retired from performing in 2012 and took up a post as Producer, Frieze Projects and later Programme Director at Siobhan Davies Dance before joining Michael Clark Company as Associate Director.

Kate has been a trustee of The Dance Fund since 2014.

Higher Education
Dr Jamieson Dryburgh Director of Higher Education Programmes
Iryna Pyzniuk Head of Studies
Natasha King Learning Development Manager
Susan Kempster MA Course Lead
Jo Easton Study Skills Tutor
Deborah Groves Study Skills Tutor
Nova Matthias Study Skills Tutor
Simonne Stewart Study Skills Tutor
Daniel Taylor English Language Tutor
Julia Ellis Ballet Tutor
Amy Hollins Ballet Tutor
Christopher Hinton-Lewis Ballet Tutor
Linda Moran Ballet Tutor
Julianne Rice-Oxley Ballet Tutor
Resmi Malko Ballet Tutor
Juan Rodriquez Ballet Tutor
Kate Lyons Ballet Tutor
Leanne King Creative Projects Manager/Contemporary & Choreography Tutor
Bim Malcomson Choreography Tutor
Emily Powell Contemporary Tutor
Jacquie Biggs Jazz Tutor
Emma Flett Spanish and Drama Tutor
Layla Harrison Ballet Tutor
Lynn Jezzard Musical Theatre Tutor
James Butcher Musical Theatre Tutor
Mikaela Polley Contemporary Tutor
Rick Nodine Improvisation Tutor
Valentina Arena Singing Tutor
Hannah Rudd Ballet Tutor
Find out more about our tutors
Ballet Central
Mikaela Polley Artist-in-Residence
Philip Feeney Musical Director
Kate Lyons Rehearsal Coach
Jessica Cabassa Wardrobe Manager
Student Support
Anna Brodrick Lead Physiotherapist & Head of Medical Department
Sarah van der Riet Physiotherapist
Sara Gallie Injury Prevention & Recovery/Pilates Tutor
Louisa Potter Pilates Tutor
Danielle Allan Massage Therapist
Britt Tajet-Foxell Psychologist
Carol Been Student Support & Receptionist
Widening Participation
Debra Cougill Head of Widening Participation & Access
Jo Hurst Associate School Manager
Rita Adewole Finance Manager
Violet Adolphus Finance & Administration Officer
Heather Begbie Senior School Administrative Assistant
Carolyn Braby Director of Finance & Operations
Summer Griffin Communications Officer
Toby Hall Facilities & IT Manager
Laura Jones Development Manager
Josh Yeardley Senior School Manager
Jim Benson Reception Services
Chika Ashby Reception Services
Sophie Field Reception Services
Brenda Ilyalla Reception Services
Kelly Ryan Reception Services
Dinah Konadu Reception Services
Sophie Macnair Reception Services
Alice Giles Reception Services
Karen Fong Reception Services
Yassah Arkoi Reception Services
Victoria Furno Duty Manager
Elizeane dos Santos Duty Manager
Anita Hamilton Communications & Leadership Consultant
Kate Brooks Fundraising Consultant
Junior School Teachers
Amy Giancarlo
Anna Zammit Lupi
Kirsty Pritchard
Liesl Dowsett
Philip Page
Zoe Epstein
Associate Programme Teachers
Amy Hollins
Emily Powell
James Muller
Juan Rodriguez
Kate Webster
Lucy Lowndes
Degree Course Pianists and Contemporary Musicians
Clinton Cormany
Oliver Davies
Grant Horley
Scott Howarth
Reina Okado
Neil Webster
Valerie Jonikic
Cyrus Gabrysch
Michael Moloney
Matt Gregory
Guy Attew
William South
Gareth Thomas
Julie Bruce
Junior School and Associate Programme Musicians
Andrew Wass
Valerie Jonikic
Mark Webster
Neil Webster
Andy Higgs
Justin Stevens
Gareth Thomas
Scott Howarth
Reina Okada
Grant Horley